Project

General

Profile

Bug #4200

wrp suite - blank workflow says you've made changes upon exit

Added by Chad Berkley about 10 years ago. Updated about 10 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
core
Target version:
Start date:
06/29/2009
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Bugzilla-Id:
4200

Description

If you open kepler under the WRP suite, then just quit it immediately, it asks you twice if you'd like to save your changes even though no changes have been made. This does not happen on the kepler suite, so I think wrp is changing some part of the model or the configuration that is causing the dirty flag to get set.

History

#1 Updated by ben leinfelder about 10 years ago

Reporting an Provenance both inject top level attributes in the model if they do not exist: a ProvenanceRecorder for provenance and a ReportingListener for reporting.
I do not remember if when running a kepler+provenance-only version if this would happen. If provenance found a way around modifying the workflow w/o setting the flag great - I/we can just use that "trick" - otherwise we'll need to solve it for both those modules (assuming that's the problem).

#2 Updated by Chad Berkley about 10 years ago

That sounds like the problem. There should be some way to insert those properties only upon model modification instead of just inserting them into every open window.

#3 Updated by ben leinfelder about 10 years ago

In org.kepler.provenance.gui.ProvenanceConfigureAction.addProvenanceRecorder() there was a call to effigy.setModified(true).
With this commented out, we don't have this problem. I think it's okay to not set this when we add the recorder, here's my thinking:
-If I open an existing WF with no provenance recorder on it, one will be added. If I don't change anything else and close it, that recorder is lost. If I reopen that same workflow, the recorder is added again. And if I make changes to the WF then the model is marked as dirty and we will prompt for a save before closing.
-Hitting the "P" toolbar button to enable/disable provenance still marks a [new blank] workflow as modified which I think is fine and intuitive.

#4 Updated by ben leinfelder about 10 years ago

committed this change to provenance

#5 Updated by Redmine Admin over 6 years ago

Original Bugzilla ID was 4200

Also available in: Atom PDF