Project

General

Profile

Actions

First Community Workshop » History » Revision 12

« Previous | Revision 12/29 (diff) | Next »
Corinna Gries, 01/15/2014 09:24 AM


First Community Workshop

Goals

  • Develop ideas for larger synthesis across systems
  • Introduce scientists to the concept of workflow systems
  • Introduce scientists to open data and methods sharing
  • Gather requirements for collaboration tools that would allow scientists to use them and share data and workflows.

Participants

Ilkay Altintas, UC San Diego, altintas at sdsc.edu
Carl Boettiger, UC Davis, cboettig at gmail.com
Erica Christensen, Utah State, erica.christensen at weecology.org
Elsa Cleland, UCSD, ecleland at ucsd.edu
Scott Collins, U New Mexico, scollins at sevilleta.unm.edu
Sam Fey, Dartmouth, Samuel.B.Fey.GR at dartmouth.edu
Corinna Gries, U Wisconsin, cgries at wisc.edu
Lauren Hallett, Berkeley, lauren.m.hallett at gmail.com
Stan Harpole, Iowa State, harpole at iastate.edu
Dave Harris, UC Davis, harry491 at gmail.com
Matt Jones, UC Santa Barbara, jones at nceas.ucsb.edu
Sydney Jones, U New Mexico, syd at sevilleta.unm.edu
Julie Ripplinger, Arizona State University, julie.ripplinger at asu.edu
Andrew Rypel, WDNR, andrew.rypel at wisconsin.gov
David Seekell, UVa, das9xx at virginia.edu
Elizabeth Siddon, U. Alaska Fairbanks, ecsiddon at alaska.edu
Eric Sokol, Virginia Tech, sokole at vt.edu
Lizzie Wolkovitch, UCSD/Harvard, lizzie at biodiversity.ubc.ca, wolkovich at fas.harvard.edu

Agenda

Wednesday February 5, 2014
8:30 am - 9:00 am Welcome and introductions Corinna
9:00 am - 9:20 am Project overview Corinna, Scott, Matt
9:20 am - 10:00 am Intro to community metrics Scott
10:00 am - 10:30 am Coffee Break
10:30 am - 12:00 pm Intro to workflows and Kepler Matt
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Lunch on your own
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm Brainstorm and prioritize community metrics plenary
3:00 pm - 3:30 pm Afternoon Break
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm Community metrics implementation hackathons (R) working groups
Thursday February 6, 2014
8:30 am - 10:00 am Community metrics implementation hackathons (R) working groups
10:00 am - 10:30 am Coffee Break
10:30 am - 12:00 pm Community metrics implementation hackathons (Kepler) working groups
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Lunch on your own
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Discussion hackathon outcomes plenary
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm Desiderata for sharing community metrics working groups
3:00 pm - 3:30 pm Afternoon Break
3:30 pm - 4:30 pm Desiderata for sharing community metrics working groups
4:30 pm - 5:30 pm Next steps - requirements for sharing workflows plenary
Friday February 7, 2014
8:30 am - 10:00 am Next steps - list of analyses and datasets plenary
10:00 am - 10:30 am Coffee Break
10:30 am - 12:00 pm Next steps - list of data operations and visualizations plenary
12:00 pm Adjourn

Outcome

  • Kepler repository design requirements for sharing workflows
  • list of community metrics
  • list of data sets
  • list of data transformation operations to get from raw data to analyses
  • list of visualizations

Updated by Corinna Gries about 9 years ago · 12 revisions