Project

General

Profile

Bug #2443

Dialog box needed to warn when deleting data table

Added by Callie Bowdish almost 14 years ago. Updated over 10 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Immediate
Assignee:
Category:
morpho - general
Target version:
Start date:
05/23/2006
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Bugzilla-Id:
2443

Description

There is no "Delete" dialog box for data tables. When the request to "Delete Current Data Table" is given no dialog box comes up. The table is deleted.

We need something similar to the Delete the Morpho Data Package dialog box.
When a request to Delete (through the File menu) is given a "Delete" dialog box comes up. It says, "Are you sure you want to delete the data package? If yes, please choose one option and click the Delete button." The options adjust depending on the state of the file being deleted. If it has never been saved, all of the options are gray for instance.

If the data table is deleted through a menu request, the only way to recover the data table is to close the data package without saving the changes. In some cases, the data packaged has never been saved. This recovery will not work in that case. If many changes have been made and not saved, all of them will be lost.

In order to protect the user from the wrong choice on the menu a dialog box should come up. This way the user can confirm that they want to delete the table. In some cases where there are more than one table. It would be good to have the name of the table that will be deleted named in the dialog box.


Regarding "Delete Selected Row" and "Delete Selected Column"
In most cases I was able to use the "Revert Entity to Saved Version" and the "Revert All Entities to Saved Version" choices, in the Edit menu, after deleting columns and Rows.

When only the table attributes are listed, but no actual data table, is available, the columns cannot be recovered. A table that brings up the following dialog box when it is first opened in Morpho tests this case. The dialog box titled, “Warning!” says, "Unable to display this data. However, an empty table with the column header information will be shown...". There is no revert option for this kind of column and header information.

I am uncertain about the usefulness of the dialog box for deleting selected rows and columns. The edit menu is able to undo this. I do not think it is a standard practice to warn with a dialog box when editing a row or column.


I think it is important to have the dialog box come up when deleting data tables in Morpho.

History

#1 Updated by Jing Tao over 10 years ago

Add a warning dialog box before users try to delete a data table, row and column.

#2 Updated by Redmine Admin almost 7 years ago

Original Bugzilla ID was 2443

Also available in: Atom PDF