Project

General

Profile

Bug #5760

saving xml to existing file asks twice on mac

Added by Daniel Crawl over 6 years ago. Updated over 6 years ago.

Status:
In Progress
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
interface
Target version:
Start date:
12/05/2012
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Bugzilla-Id:
5760

Description

On Mac, when saving a workflow as XML to an existing file, there are two dialogs that ask to overwrite the existing file. This occurs in Vergil, too.

History

#1 Updated by Christopher Brooks over 6 years ago

Fixed in r65184 in ptolemy/actor/gui/TableauFrame.java
I updated Top.java as well, though that code is not called because
TableauFrame overrides those methods.

The issue is that FileDialog prompts the user if during Save As, the
file already exists. FileChooser does not prompt.

I also tested this under Windows with Java 1.6:

export JAVAFLAGS=-Dptolemy.ptII.useFileDialog=true
$PTII/bin/vergil

I'm assigning this to Daniel for verification and closing.

#2 Updated by Daniel Crawl over 6 years ago

I tested on Mac, and it's fixed.

I also tested on Linux, Java 1.6: the default dialog asks for confirmation once, but if I set JAVAFLAGS=-Dptolemy.ptII.useFileDialog=true, then it does not ask at all.

#3 Updated by Daniel Crawl over 6 years ago

The remaining problem will not occur in the 2.4 release, so retargeting.

To close this, the file dialog should ask the user once on Mac, Linux, and Windows, with ptolemy.ptII.useFileDialog true and false.

#4 Updated by Redmine Admin about 6 years ago

Original Bugzilla ID was 5760

Also available in: Atom PDF