the Publish button should be disabled for metadata files that already have a DOI
Currently, the Publish button is visible and enabled if a user is logged in and has permission to publish a new identifier. Once a DOI has been assigned, however, the Publish button should be disabled as there is no need to assign a new DOI to an object that already has one. Also, the Publish button should be disabled for any obsoleted versions of an object, as they can not be updated() and therefore assigning a DOI doesn't make sense. Only when a user has created a new, non-doi version of an object should the button be enabled again.
Updated by ben leinfelder about 9 years ago
- Assignee changed from ben leinfelder to Lauren Walker
DOIs can show up in three forms as of the moment:
doi:10.xxx/... http://dx.doi.org/10.xxxx/... http://doi.org/10.xxxx/...
The '10' is the DOI Foundation, and distinguishes DOIs from other Handles, which will have different authorities.