Project

General

Profile

Actions

First Community Workshop » History » Revision 7

« Previous | Revision 7/29 (diff) | Next »
Corinna Gries, 01/15/2014 09:11 AM


First Community Workshop

Goals

  • Develop ideas for larger synthesis across systems
  • Introduce scientists to the concept of workflow systems
  • Introduce scientists to open data and methods sharing
  • Gather requirements for collaboration tools that would allow scientists to use them and share data and workflows.

Participants

Ilkay Altintas, UC San Diego, altintas at sdsc.edu
Carl Boettiger, UC Davis, cboettig at gmail.com
Erica Christensen, Utah State, erica.christensen at weecology.org
Elsa Cleland, UCSD, ecleland at ucsd.edu
Scott Collins, U New Mexico, scollins at sevilleta.unm.edu
Sam Fey, Dartmouth, Samuel.B.Fey.GR at dartmouth.edu
Corinna Gries, U Wisconsin, cgries at wisc.edu
Lauren Hallett, Berkeley, lauren.m.hallett at gmail.com
Stan Harpole, Iowa State, harpole at iastate.edu
Dave Harris, UC Davis, harry491 at gmail.com
Matt Jones, UC Santa Barbara, jones at nceas.ucsb.edu
Sydney Jones, U New Mexico, syd at sevilleta.unm.edu
Julie Ripplinger, Arizona State University, julie.ripplinger at asu.edu
Andrew Rypel, WDNR, andrew.rypel at wisconsin.gov
David Seekell, UVa, das9xx at virginia.edu
Elizabeth Siddon, U. Alaska Fairbanks, ecsiddon at alaska.edu
Eric Sokol, Virginia Tech, sokole at vt.edu
Lizzie Wolkovitch, UCSD/Harvard, lizzie at biodiversity.ubc.ca, wolkovich at fas.harvard.edu

Agenda

Wednesday February 5, 2014
8:30 am - 9:00 am Welcome and introductions Corinna
9:00 am - 9:20 am Project overview Corinna, Scott, Matt
9:20 am - 10:00 am Intro to community metrics Scott
10:00 am - 10:30 am Coffee Break
10:30 am - 12:00 pm Intro to workflows and Kepler Matt
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Lunch on your own
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm Around the room ideas for metrics and datasets
3:00 pm - 3:30 pm Afternoon Break
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm Working groups
Thursday February 6, 2014
8:30 am - 10:00 am Hack-a-thon, develop R scripts for metrics working groups
10:00 am - 10:30 am Coffee Break
10:30 am - 12:00 pm Hack-a-thon, develop R scripts for metrics working groups
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Lunch on your own
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Discussion plenary
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm Hack-a-thon build Kepler workflows working groups
3:00 pm - 3:30 pm Afternoon Break
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm Hack-a-thon build Kepler workflows working groups
Friday February 7, 2014
8:30 am - 10:00 am Next steps - metrics plenary
10:00 am - 10:30 am Coffee Break
10:30 am - 12:00 pm Next steps - requirements for Kepler actors plenary
12:00 pm Adjourn

Plenary sessions

  • Brainstorm and prioritize community metrics

Breakout groups:

  • Community metrics implementation hackathons
  • Desiderata for sharing community metrics
  • Design for metrics sharing

Outcome

  • list of analyses
  • list of data sets
  • list of data transformation operations to get from raw data to analyses
  • list of visualizations

Updated by Corinna Gries about 9 years ago · 7 revisions